Back to news

STEVENS POINT, Wis. (Sept. 24, 2015) – Skyward, Inc., an industry-leading K-12 school administrative software provider, is accepting entries for its second annual Leader in Excellence Award. The program recognizes K-12 districts and individuals using Skyward to improve education and inspire innovative ideas and initiatives.
“Last year’s inaugural Leader in Excellence Award program resulted in a tremendous response from our customer partners across the country,” said Ray Ackerlund, vice president of sales and marketing at Skyward. “This year, we expect to receive even greater participation from districts and individuals who are using our school management solution to empower their staff with tools and data needed to help them be more productive and help their students be more successful.”
Any K-12 school district or district employee who used Skyward School Management System during the 2014-15 school year is eligible to enter the program. Nominees must demonstrate their district has made improvement by using the School Management System. In addition, a Skyward account executive, project manager, product manager or team leader must be used as a reference for the district or individual. The closing date for entries is Friday, Nov. 6, 2015 at 5:00 p.m. CST and winners will be announced in early 2016.
Individuals who are leaders that inspire peers through their use of Skyward software, and school districts that use Skyward software to change education in a positive way, are eligible to receive the award. Winners earn a free registration to the 14th annual Skyward International Conference (iCon) at the TradeWinds Island Resort in St. Pete Beach, Fla., and will be recognized for their success at a presentation ceremony on March 10, 2016.
2015 Leader in Excellence individual award recipients included John Reiels, director of technology at Nicolet High School in Wisconsin, Dr. R.J. Gravel, director of instructional technology at Johnsburg School District 12 in Illinois, and Charles Mikeska, assistant superintendent at West Independent School District in Texas. District recipients included Deerfield Public School District 109 in Illinois, and Grapevine-Colleyville Independent School District in Texas.
For more information and to submit an entry for the 2016 Leader in Excellence Award, visit